2010 David Jones Cup Nominations

October 11th, 2010

Today the nominations for the elite line-up of races scheduled to take place Caulfield Racecourse this Saturday during Caulfield Cup Day were released, including the entries for the $125,000 Group 3 David Jones Cup (2000m).

The 2010 David Jones Cup, formerly the Coongy Handicap, has drawn 37 nominees competing for a spot in the 16-horse final field, including a number of gallopers that will contest the race if they miss out on a run in the Caulfield Cup.

The Luca Cumani-trained Becqu Adoree, the Lloyd Williams-owned trio of C’est La Guerre, Muir and Mourayan, as well as Bart Cummings’ Empires Choice and Ciaron Maher’s Moudre are the Caulfield Cup hopefuls that will use the David Jones Cup as a back-up plan for Saturday.

Last start winner of the Craven Plate, C’est La Guerre broke his previous 31-month winning drought in the Randwick race and should start one of the favourites in the David Jones odds at Ladbrokes.com.au if accepted.

Other notable entries for the David Jones Cup include Peter Snowden’s Craven Plate runner-up Purple, Zabeel gelding Rainbow Styling who was the upset winner of the Naturalism Stakes before finishing second to Precedence in the JRA Cup at Moonee Valley last month and Trusting.

John Thompson’s four-year-old Trusting has shown terrific improvement in Sydney this season, twice finishing second at Group 1 level in the George Main Stakes and Epsom Handicap and has real claims here.

The other runner to watch is another from the Lloyd Williams’ contingent, nine-year-old Danehill gelding Zipping who showed he was still capable of great success with a stunning win in the Turnbull Stakes last-start.

The 2010 David Jones final field will be released later in the week along with the betting odds and we will publish both so stay tuned.

In the meantime, now is the perfect time to open an account with Ladbrokes.com.au if you haven’t discovered them already! Join today and enjoy a free $300 bet to get you started.

2010 David Jones Nominations

No. Horse Trainer Handicapper Rating
1 BECQU ADOREE (FR) Luca Cumani 82
2 BUFFETT (NZ) Jarrod McLean 82
3 C’EST LA GUERRE (NZ) Robert Hickmott 108
4 CROCODILE CANYON (NZ) Howard Mathews 82
5 DEALER PRINCIPAL Anthony Cummings 103
6 DREAM PEDLAR Troy Blacker 93
7 EMBLEM OF LIBERTY (SAF) Darren Weir 95
8 EMPIRES CHOICE (NZ) Bart Cummings 104
9 GINGA DUDE (NZ) Graeme Boyd 101
10 GOLDEN CHARMER Dan O’Sullivan 82
11 GOTTA KEEP COOL Darren Weir 86
12 I’M IMPOSING (GB) Robert Hickmott 82
13 LA ROCKET Dale Sutton 104
14 LARISTAN (FR) David Hayes 89
15 MOUDRE Ciaron Maher 101
16 MOURAYAN (IRE) Robert Hickmott 107
17 MUIR (GB) Robert Hickmott 86
18 NIPTIOUS Danny Curran 86
19 PACINO Clinton McDonald 95
20 PHAZE ACTION Robbie Laing 85
21 PLAYWRIGHT (NZ) Steve Richards 100
22 PURPLE Peter Snowden 107
23 RAINBOW STYLING (NZ) Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes 103
24 RED BUTTONS Michael Kent 89
25 RED RULER (NZ) John Sargent 107
26 ROCK KINGDOM Gai Waterhouse 106
27 ROWLAND Robbie Laing 77
28 RUNDLE Robert Hickmott 78
29 SEA GALLEON Colin & Cindy Alderson 68
30 STANSTILL (IRE) Michael Kent 89
31 SYNDROME (NZ) Michael Moroney 87
32 THE FUZZ (NZ) David Hayes 102
33 TOKEN OF HONOUR David Hayes 82
34 TRUSTING John P Thompson 107
35 ZANTELAGH Mark Kavanagh 78
36 ZIPPING Robert Hickmott 118
37 ZOOMIN (NZ) Michael Kent 97