David Jones Cup Field

The David Jones Cup field generally consists of runners trying to make a transition from shorter distances to the longer distances of races later in the season. Baughurst, who won in 2008 and 2009, went on to get second place in the 2008 Group 2 Moonee Valley Cup and third place in the 2008 Group 3 Queen Elizabeth Stakes. Also, 2009 second place getter Shocking went on to win the Melbourne Cup and 2006 winner Maybe Better won the Group 3 Saab Quality before placing third in the Melbourne Cup of the same year.

As you can see, the David Jones Cup field can consist of real contenders. You just need to keep in mind that many of the horses have had little experience at this distance. Watch the race for hints on how the runners might perform later in the season, but go with a horse that is already known to run well at 2000 metres and beyond when actually betting on the David Jones Cup field at Ladbrokes.com.au.

2016 David Jones Cup Field

The 2016 David Jones Cup field is shaping up to be one of the more impressive selections of horses to have run in this race. With a range of well-known stables expressing intent to nominate horses for the 2016 David Jones Cup field, we are no doubt in for a bumper event. Keep an eye out here for the David Jones Cup field, and happy punting!

The 2016 David Jones Cup field is below.

No Last 10 Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight Hcp Rating
1 611653×431 IT’S SOMEWHAT (USA) John O’Shea Hugh Bowman 1 59kg 108
2 x21377x056 THE CLEANER Peter Gelagotis Steven Arnold 6 59kg 108
3 x231515902 MAURUS (GB) Robert Smerdon Craig Williams 9 55.5kg 101
4 1x0649x549 VANBRUGH Chris Waller Ben Melham 5 54.5kg 99
5 115x0x00x3 BRING SOMETHING Ken Keys Craig Newitt 7 54kg 96
6 71x110x266 TOM MELBOURNE (IRE) Lee & Anthony Freedman Dwayne Dunn 13 54kg 95
7 6x7733x867 DE LITTLE ENGINE Danny O’Brien Damian Lane 4 54kg 93
8 001310×793 TARQUIN John O’Shea Brenton Avdulla 10 54kg 91
9 8689x10x72 BLIZZARD (NZ) Emma-Lee & David Browne Zac Purton 8 54kg 90
10 0x0006x702 CALVIN WILLIAMS (FR) Darren Weir Michael Dee (a) 11 54kg 90
11 113x67x661 NOZOMI Lee & Anthony Freedman Kerrin McEvoy 12 54kg 89
12 5462102×09 ROSE OF VIRGINIA (NZ) Lee & Shannon Hope Ben E Thompson (a) 3 54kg 88
13 7560x90x07 HONORIUS Darren Weir Dean Yendall 2 54kg 87

2016 David Jones Cup Nominations

The David Jones Cup nominations usually feature a range of decent handicappers. Because of its 2000m distance, you tend to get a few milers and a few stayers among the David Jones Cup nominations. The 2016 David Jones Cup nominations will be published here on Tuesday, October 11th.