Below is a list of the recent David Jones Cup winners. As this is an open race, runners from previous years are likely to return. If you see a previous winner in the odds at a site like, take a look at their current form and consider an each-way or win bet on them.

David Jones Cup results are great for gauging the form of horses for later runs in their racing careers.

David Jones Cup results since 1999 are below.

David Jones Cup Results

Year Winner Second Third Time
2016 Vanbrugh Tom Melbourne It’s Somewhat 2:02.1
2015 Stratum Star Awesome Rock Leebaz 2:02.1
2014 Contributer Noble Protector Signoff 2:05.3
2013 Spurtonic Bass Strait Garud 2:03.1
2012 Lightinthenite Bagman Extra Zero 2:04.3
2011 Foreteller Extra Zero Midnight Martini 2:03.0
2010 Ginga Dude Purple Zoomin 2:06.7
2009 Baughurst Shocking Pacino 2:03.7
2008 Baughurst Pacino Annenkov 2:02.1
2007 Fire In The Night Molotov Pacino 2:02.4
2006 Maybe Better King Of Ashford Temple Hills 2:01.2
2005 Activation Studebaker Uprize 2:00.6
2004 Reclaim Pretorius Star Of Grechen 2:05.7
2003 Frightening Crawl Adolescence 2:03.5
2002 Mr Lofty Little Miss Quick Society Beau 2:02.0
2001 Citras Prince Indian Ridge Tempest Morn 2:04.1
2000 Typhoon Avilde Slavonic 2:00.9
1999 Oliver Twist Make A Scene Nahayan 2:03.5